I Love You

Sometimes I think that I have so much to teach the girls, but the truth is, I also have a lot to learn from them. Their resilience, the way they keep no grudges, the way their eyes light up. The way they marvel at nature and find joy in the absolutely simple, mundane things.

They live in the moment, here and now. They repeat what they believe. They question with a desire to learn. They find comfort in the cradle of my arms.

This season has been quite something. Part of the journey involves being in a different town to seek treatment. Even in the difficult moments, I have seen God’s hand. Our family friends are hosting me while I’m in the city.

The last few days have been quiet, and their baby has been such a joy to be around. Randomly one day he walks up to me and says, “Auntie Ess, I love you.” I’ve absolutely been mushed. There’s a way he says it with conviction and passion. Once is never enough, he will repeat it in the sweetest voice.

Children learn through repetition, and perhaps we need to be as relentless in our repetition of what is true and what is good, too.

Others were given in exchange for you. I traded their lives for yours because you are precious to me. You are honored, and I love you. ~Isaiah 43:4 NLT

Perhaps we should hunger to believe truth, seek it and be satisfied with the love around us. As I’ve read verse 4 today I have wept over God’s declaration of love for me. He shows it, He sees it and He is love.

Even when we don’t see it or feel it, He is still working all things for our good. We can trust His heart and love for us.

“I love you’ ~ God

3 thoughts on “I Love You

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thank you Ess and Glory to God that you can write again I am so much convinced that you’re destined for greatness!

    Amen God loves you
    We love you too.. my babies and I continue to pray for you

Leave a comment